Badges!

One of my fellow 3240 classmates posted a link to the BadgeOS tool in our forum discussion.  I was really intrigued and think that this is something that I will use in my future workplace.

The premise is that you can create a game of sorts, customizable with different levels and award “badges” for completion.  I can see many uses for this, for instance in New York it’s being used to recognize skill and academic development for “second chance” high school students.

http://badgeos.org/about/

BadgeOS example

You might think that badges are for kids. I first saw them when I visited my nephews and saw them working on “homework” on a site called “ixl”.  It was incredible to see how motivating the achievement badges were, and how they encouraged them to practice math and language skills.

https://ca.ixl.com/

ixl

I’ve since seen how prolific badges have become for adults. About 2 years ago, my previous organization implemented a performance management system called SuccessFactors. As part of this system, employees can give “badges” to others in the company to thank them, congratulate on a great idea, or to recognize teamwork.

https://connect.successfactors.com/success-academy/self-service/Documents1/Succession%20Management/sfu-ee-intro-ee-profile.pdf

SF

“Then again, the merit-badge idea has surely influenced, directly or not, the many identity symbols that now proliferate in the digital self-representations of social-networking profiles and the like.” (Walker, 2010)

On August 9, 2011, Fitbit launched badges for various step and distance milestones. Step badges could be earned based on how many steps a user took in a single day, while lifetime distance badges gave users a badge based on how much distance they’ve logged since they started using the Fitbit Tracker.”

I must admit, I do feel a bit more motivated when I earn a Fitbit badge…

I want to use this concept in my next role in Human Resources. Perhaps it can be attached to a leadership skill curriculum such as giving a badge for completing a workshop on Performance Management, or Change Management, or Interviewing skills.

I can also see use with a LMS where employees could earn badges for completing their self-directed learning modules. The gaming aspect, a little competition, and a lot more learning! Winning combination!

References:

Fitbit. (n.d.). Retrieved June 30, 2015, from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fitbit
Walker, R. (2010, June 11). Lifelong Learning. Retrieved June 30, 2015, from http://www.nytimes.com/2010/06/13/magazine/13fob-consumed-t.html?_r=0
Leave a Reply

